Have you installed the Windows 10 April 2018 OS Update? If yes, there is going to above 10 GB worth of files killing the space on the hard drive of your system for sure! When you have a laptop or a tablet which have a restricted storage, this might block up your device’s storage a lot.

In case you possess a computer having a big quantity of storage available, you may not even recognize this unusable data. It is going to be there for around 10 days up until Windows spontaneously removes it.

This Data Allows You to Downgrade for 10 Days

Updating in between the “builds” of Windows 10 OS – such as from the Windows 10 Fall Creators Upgrade to the Windows 10 April 2018 Update – is treated in the same manner as updating to a completely new Windows OS.

While you upgrade to the latest “build,” Windows produces a folder named ‘Windows.old’ that comprises of the files of the system out of your “old” Windows version. This permits you to “move back” to the preceding form or version of Windows 10 in case you come across a difficulty with the latest build.

On the other hand, this folder makes use of above 10 GB of memory space on the hard disk. Windows is going to spontaneously eliminate it in the subsequent 10 days, but you may also delete it earlier to free up that memory space instantaneously.

Removing the Windows.old Folder

In case everything appears to be functioning fine following some days, you may go forward and delete the data. You might require deleting the Windows.old folder manually, and you also must not try doing it.

Beginning with the Windows 10’s April 2018 OS Upgrade, you might now be able to delete these files making use of the latest “Free Up Space” procedure provided in the Settings menu. To access this procedure, you need to visit Settings > System > Storage > Free Up Space Now.

Look for the “Previous Windows Installation(s)” choice provided in the listing. You are going to get the volume of space you are going to save subsequent to it then and there.

In case you don’t get this choice on the listing, either you’ve previously erased these documents, or Windows 10 has previously removed those from the memory.

Approve the other kinds of documents you need to remove and then tap on the “Remove Files” option provided on that window’s upper section. It is secure to delete every single kind of data here in case your PC is functioning in the proper manner, but keep in mind that inspecting the “Recycle Bin” choice is going to delete all the documents you possess in the Recycle Bin.

Categories: Windows Error

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *